In 2012 I named my favorite blogs of the time. If you missed the list here it is link . My only regret about those five blogs is that three years later Ian Arunga has lost his sense of humor.

Today, these are my top five Kenyan blogs.

  • Kenyan Homo

Address: https://kenyanhomo.wordpress.com/

We treat homosexuals very badly. Even when we are pretending to be their friends we make them feel awkward with our stupid questions and comments and apologise only when the damage is visible on their faces, as they laugh off our offensiveness. We never see them as human beings but as curiosities. Like animals in a free and open zoo. I hope this blog makes you see another human being, who faces the same difficulties you do and is trying to live a good and fulfilled life just like you.

  • Savvy Kenya in Japan

Address: http://savvykenya.com/category/japan/

She went to Japan and I feel like I went with her because of how she writes about the country.

Very few bloggers educate you about anything. I think someone else would have used this opportunity to only take photos and not write anything because they assume that a picture will tell you everything you need to know. It won’t. It will only make the rest of us jealous and envy is quite useless out here.

Stories take us where you are and we really appreciate that experience. Thank you Savvy Kenya for not leaving us behind. And I think this is the only time I have been nice to anyone on my blog. Consider yourself special and good luck to you and Jeremy.

  • Miss Awuor

Address: http://missawuor.tumblr.com/

I love and hate this one. Sometimes I cry with her and sometimes I want to find her and really tell her off. Her writing wakes all kinds of emotions and that is a good thing. Though I wish her identity was more obvious here but then again…she seems like a beautifully complex woman. So I will let her be and keep my mild expletives to myself until such a time when I won’t care so much for her words but more about her view of life from what I see as too much privilege and time to waste. I speak as a repeatedly failed hustler. Please hold it against me.

  • Otoyo

Address: http://troyonyango.com/

I would rather this guy just wrote fiction. All those other things don’t work at all for Otoyo. Everyone wants to be a lifestyle blogger and at the same time keep the creative writing going. You can’t serve two masters. Money or the idea that you will attract it by writing all other rubbish is okay for some sellouts. However, we need good storytelling on the internet as well. A blog that only has one tab won’t make you a loser. You will win where it matters.

Please read Otoyo’s fiction and ignore everything else there. The rest is crap and the poetry tab is a lie because there is not a single poem there. Fuck Otoyo for lying.

  • Lucia Musau

Address: http://luciamusau.com/#sthash.VDtyey7j.dpbs

This one is a fashion blog. The owner calls it her journal, which I took to mean that she is not a self-appointed expert.

She also has a body that makes clothes look good. Don’t get me started on how I think that not everyone should model on their blogs. I shall deal with that on the day I will have collected enough fat and bile to spit out.

Lucia is hot.

Tchuβ